WIPs and Trains

Long time – no blog.

Lots of stuff happening.

I’m knitting THIS out of THIS on the train at the moment.  It’s a ‘commission’ for MOTH’s ex-wife’s boss’s sister in India! (How’s that for confusing?)  What a mouthful!  It’s another Voyager Lace Stole but looks totally different in the 100% cotton yarn. 

Voyager Lace Stole - in Luxury Soft 4 ply cotton from Sirdar

Voyager Lace Stole - in Luxury Soft 4 ply cotton from Sirdar

I’m also knitting Enroule from THIS BOOK out of THIS at home.  I’ve finished 4 of 6 repeats and then I have to do a pesky kitchener graft – hmmm a bit scared of that one.  I will however face my fears and see how I go.  The original pattern called for a provisional cast on – but I decided to try Judy’s magic cast on and see if it works.  Will be interesting to see how it looks finished.  Provisional cast ons and fuzzy Alpaca yarn are not really friendly….know what I mean?

Enroule - from Woolly Wormhead in Bendigo Woollen Mills Alpaca in Dusty Coral

Enroule - from Woolly Wormhead in Bendigo Woollen Mills Alpaca in Dusty Coral

 enroule-stitch-definition

I’ve finished the first toe up sock – just waiting to see if I am allowed to post a piccie – I LOVE this way of knitting socks – no picking up stitches, no messy toes, LOVE LOVE LOVE!  I may never knit a cuff down sock again.  It took me so long, because for some reason I developed a really nasty case of dermatitis on my hands – I’m not sure if it might be the dye in the yarn….I hope not – it’s GORGEOUS and so soft to knit with.

13 rows of rib to finish teh cuff adn my first toe up sock is done.  Drach Socks from Wired for Fibre in Olivia Cashmerino

13 rows of rib to finish the cuff and my first toe up sock is done. Drach Socks soon to be available from Wired for Fibre - knitted in Olivia Cashmerino - GORGEOUS yarn

I’ve discovered the magnificent cowl and I’m intent on knitting one or two of these before it starts to get too cold here in Melbourne!  Scarves are great (and I have many) but sometimes they just get in the way!  Cowls offer no floppy ends to have to keep re-adjusting when they blow away, or to have fall in your coffee/soup/lasagne, whatever!!

A couple of funny incidences on the train lately.

Firstly, a couple of weeks ago, I was quietly sock-knitting (the toe up sock – 2 circulars) on my way home when I noted a gentleman (late 50s perhaps) watching me very closely.  I didn’t think too much about it until he got out his mobile phone and TOOK MY PICTURE!!!!!!  Are knitters really that much of a peculiarity?

 Secondly, I’m often asked to stop knitting when someone sits next to me, and mostly I just pretend I don’t hear (I’m wearing headphones you see).  One day last week, a woman sat next to me (I was already knitting) and she puffed and panted, huffed and wriggled, dug around in her handbag, encroached on my personal space and finally elbowed me, and asked me to stop.  I said no of course – I was there before she was.

Oh and for the record.  Trains are late.  Always.  What’s new?  I’ve given up complaining about it – nothing changes.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “WIPs and Trains

  1. can’t believe people have actually asked you to stop knitting?! I used to regularly do the daily train ride, and encountered paper-flappers, obnoxious conversations and obscenely loud ipods, not once did I ask for these people to desist. It is part and parcel of the PUBLIC experience.

    I would have poked her with a dpn…

  2. StitchSista

    I’m also gob smacked someone asked you to stop knitting! I’m so glad you said no! How ridiculous…

  3. Cat

    I so love the pattern in the socks you train knitter you, LOL.

Leave a Reply

