By Hook…..or by Book!

Train Departed:  5:07pm (due to depart 5:04 – 3 minutes late!)
Train Arrived at Destination: 6:19 (due 6:07 – 12 minutes late!) 
Notable Train Events:  Reading
Knitting: Lacy Jacket (Style Number 3) in Patons Soft Haze colour 499 (I’ve already knitted the back THREE TIMES!!)

Before I get into my train trip let me tell you I discovered a nifty on the net tip (read down to the comments!)

The jacket I’m knitting is a simple lace pattern, very simple, but I’ve not knitted shaping in lace before and it got a bit tricky – I’d decrease then get to the end,  count the stitches and there would be the same number as I started with!  I thought I was going nuts!  So the last time, instead of ensuring that I had to rip back to the ribbed band, when I got to the armhole cast off (before the armhole shaping) I threaded a length of yarn through the stitches on the needle before I started shaping, soooooo if I do have to rip it out again (crossing everything that doesnt’ happen) I can just reverse-knit back to the armhole shaping!  So far though things are going well this time!  (Murphy is at work!) 

I will try and remember to take a pic of my safety net tonight and will edit this post!!

Now, there’s lots of reading happening on my train (morning and night) so I thought I’d list a few books I’ve spotted being enjoyed on my journey!

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.  I’ve seen this LOTS so I might have to pick it up for myself!  The Offsider enjoyed it and from what I can tell, the women reading this book are too!

For Crying Out Loud: The World According to Clarkson.  I’ve never seen a guy laugh so much out loud as the guy across from me reading this last night…it was funny just to watch and listen to him!

The Twilight Series (all of them – Stephanie Meyer.  This series seems very popular too, in fact I’ve seen them in Mary Martin and wonder if they’re too ‘old’ for my very advanced 12 year old lover of fantasy at home!  Just the covers have me intrigued.  More research required here.

Letter to D – A Love Story – Andre Golz.  I’ve heard all about this – I can’t wait to read it – it’s on my Christmas list!   Apparently one to be enjoyed with red wine and chocolate in solace, swinging on the hammock in my pergola…where I can bawl in peace!

Lots more – perhaps I’ll make a it a weekly reading list 🙂

If you’ve read one of these – leave me a comment – tell me what you thought!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “By Hook…..or by Book!

  1. I started reading the first of the Twilight series a few months back but put it down before finishing as I wasn’t really in a reading mood at the time. I have the others on my TBR list and I will go back to the first one and start over in the near future. Right now I’m in a JD Robb/Nora Roberts phase 🙂

    My 13 yo DS is a very advanced fantasy reader too but the Twilight series don’t seem to interest him. I know one or two 13 yo girls in his Year level at school that are reading it though and love it 🙂

  2. Oh, and I also meant to say that I started to read Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert but gave up about half way through. I just couldn’t get into it. I’m happy to send my copy on to you if you’d like it though.

  3. Alison

    My 13yo (going on 45) DD has read all four of the Stephanie Meyer books. They were given to her while we were in the US. Can I just say, HEAVY?! The physical books, not the story! LOL. She really enjoyed them. She would also love the Clarkson book as she’s right into Top Gear at the moment too.

    Mel, I just got one of those JD Robb/Nora Roberts books out of the library today. First one for me.

Leave a Reply

